top of page
  • Writer's pictureKarissa Blevins

The time I decided to go against the grain...

Rachel H says "You're most like the 5 people you surround yourself with most." When I heard this it smacked me in the face! It is so true! I started catching myself doing the things that I couldn't stand if some of the people I love did them. UGH!!! So I decided to shift, not against my people but against everything I've ever known. I started listening to more podcasts, books, and tapping into myself and learning about how I'm wired and why.


This has changed the GAME.


Grief struck when I was most vulnerable, when Keethan died I had no clue who I was or what I wanted in life. For the 2 years following I was simply surviving through the day to day.


So I'm here to share all the tangible acts that have helped me to date.


1. Writing in my journal. Sometimes I use a prompt (you can get ours for free under the tab "Learning to Navigate Grief") some times it's letter form, or just free writing.


2. Meditation. Guided helps me with most break through moments other times I put on some soft instrumentals. I like to have my oil diffuser on or a candle lit.


3. Podcast. Listening to conversations with people doing the same things as me or that I aspire to do motivate me to get my butt moving in the direction I want to go.


4. Exercise. Yes physical body movement. I will tell you honestly, there is hardly a day that I WANT to go to the gym BUT there is never a day that I regret going!


These are the basic practices that got me out of my head and depression that were holding me back in living. I know it's hard to even consider, and in the beginning I would feel guilty for feeling good or having good days, like how dare I, or I didn't deserve that. That is FALSE. You deserve every good thing in this life just like you did before your loved one died. We all do.


So today I want to encourage you to do just one of these things starting today, next week start another one, keep doing that until your doing all 4 and they become apart of your every day habits, like brushing you teeth! Send me some feedback! Tell me how it's working for you at cartergirlsgriefchapters@gmail.com


We love you all!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page